WinterKids Board of Directors

WinterKids Board
Of Directors

WinterKids Board Members FY2022
WinterKids’ Board of Directors and Staff at the organization’s annual meeting at Allagash Brewing Co.
Front (L to R): Derrick Hill, Mary-Theresa Tringale, Erin Brennan, Tom Fremont-Smith, Josh Harrington
Middle (L to R): Heather Swain, Marion Doyle, Julie Mulkern, Jen Flynn, Gabe Weiss
Back (L to R): Dyana Tull, Parker Swenson, Jason Leveille, Seth Coburn, Jeff Zachau, Dirk Gouwens
Absent from photo: Jillian Flynn, Ryan Larsen, Steph Lindsay, Sarah Long, and Lisa Trundy-Whitten


Seth Coburn


Attorney, Verrill Dana

Parker Swenson

Vice President

Lisa Trundy-Whitten


CPA, Principal, BerryDunn

Julie Mulkern


Executive Director, WinterKids

Derrick Hill

Past President


Jennifer Flynn

Tom Fremont-Smith

Dirk Gouwens

Executive Director, Ski Maine Association

Ryan Larsen

Corporate Merchant, L.L.Bean

Steph Lindsay

Marketing Chair

Jason Leveille

WinterKids App Chair

Software Developer, Open Table

Sarah Long

Program Chair

Meteorologist, WMTW

Jillian Rich

AVP, Marketing, Bangor Savings Bank

Dyana Tull

Governance Chair

Attorney, Hannaford Retail Business Services

Gabe Weiss


Attorney, WEX

Jeff Zachau

Past President


Julia Clukey

Maine Olympic Luger

William Dexter, M.D.

Medical Advisor

Director of Sports Medicine, Maine Medical Center

Seth Wescott

2-time Maine Olympic Gold Medalist in Snowboardcross

Start Typing



Students, Teachers, and Families Impacted in Maine & New Hampshire since 2010!

WinterKids is the only nonprofit in Maine dedicated exclusively to increasing outdoor physical activity in children and families during our longest, most sedentary season.  

The shorter, darker, and colder days of winter and the increasing allure of screen time make it all too easy for kids and families to “hibernate.”  At WinterKids, we make it our business to provide kids, parents, and teachers with the right option: to get outside, get active, and have fun in the winter – and year-round.

Outdoor kids are active kids. Active kids are healthy kids. Healthy kids are happy kids. Happy kids are “winter kids.”



With outside being the safest and best place to be, WinterKids has truly thrived during the pandemic! We were able to reach nearly 27,000 kids, teachers and families in Maine and New Hampshire with creative adaptations for safe, outdoor adventures. Check out our 2020/2021 Season Wrap Up Report!

annual report


We are so thankful for our WinterKids Family – sponsors, foundations, teams, friends, volunteers, board and staff – and most important, the KIDS we serve. 2020 was a fantastic year for our organization, reaching over 35,000 (!) kids, family members, and teachers with innovative, outdoor education programs.